Book haul and TBR – 2nd July 2016!

 

In the absence of me having actually completed a book this week (life got in the way) I thought I’d do a little spread of my recent book buys and TBR list! Some of these books are new and some of them are older ones that I haven’t got around to reading just yet, but they’re all moving up my list.

Lincoln Townley – The Hunger

Blurb: Hidden from the London tourists lies a demi-monde of decadence where a man can party to excess for as long as his wallet allows. Lincoln Townley was in charge of sales and marketing for a famous men’s club in Soho, connecting wealthy punters with hopeful girls. He held private sex parties for city bankers and worked his way through an endless supply of beautiful young women, breaking beds and smashing toilets along the way. But even that was not enough to satisfy The Hunger. Lincoln wanted more coke and more women. And he devoured them.

Driven to drink more, snort more, fight more and f*ck more, Lincoln pushed his body to the point of collapse and then he pushed it further. When you’re possessed by The Hunger, is there ever a way out?the hunger

This isn’t the type of book I’d normally pick up, but I have always found something about addiction and depravity strangely fascinating to read. After seeing a few mentions of it out there on the internet I found it for cheap on an amazon bookseller’s site. I’m hoping this true account will provide a raw exploration of the battle with addiction as well as a bit of entertainment; a rare glimpse in
to an exciting and dangerous underworld. This book will definitely be getting a review on this site so keep an eye out!

 

Mikhail Bulgakov – The Fatal Eggs

Blurb: Professor Persikov, an eccentric zoologist, stumbles upon a new light ray that accelerates growth and reproduction rates in living organisms. In the wake of a plague that has decimated the country’s poultry stocks, Persikov’s discovery is exploited as a means to correct the problem. As foreign agents, the state and the Soviet media all seize upon the red ray, matters get out of hand…

Set in 1928 but written four years earlier, during Stalin’s rise to power, The Fatal Eggs is both an early piece of science fiction reminiscent of H.G. Wells and a biting, brilliant satire on the consequences of the abuse of power and knowledge.

the fatal eggs.jpg

Again, this isn’t my usual type of book – in fact, science fiction in general is not my go to genre. However I picked up this book as part of a three for one deal and am really quite excited to see how it goes. The author, Mikhail Bulgakov, was a doctor who wrote several science-fiction books – some of which were not published in his lifetime due to Soviet censorship. I really enjoy novels that combine futuristic developments with history, and as this novel isn’t particularly long I should be able to get through it at some point when I have a minute spare or a train journey to fill!

 

Marge Piercy – Woman On the Edge Of Time

Blurb: Marge Piercy’s bestselling novel is both a gripping drama of survival and a Utopian epic. The story of Connie Ramos – 37, Mexican-American, labelled inadequate, unfairly incarcerated in a mental hospital – becomes the turning point for a book about war, a vision of an idyllic future and a moving narrative of essential human dignity. Emotionally compelling, politically searing, this is a landmark novel by a writer of dazzling abilities.

woman-on-the-edge-of-time.jpg

Having just said that I don’t go for sci-fi, I’ve included a second one! This novel was on the reading list for one of my University modules on feminist literature, however as I was unable to attend that particular seminar, I never bothered to read more than the first two chapters. What I did read, I really enjoyed, so now that I have finished University and have a bit more time on my hands I’m planning to go back to give this another shot. The protagonist is committed to a mental hospital against her will and essentially begins to travel through time, visiting a Utopian future where gender, law and other societal structures and constructs do not exist. From what I’ve seen so far it seems that this novel was ahead of its time and a cutting-edge piece of fiction and societal commentary.

 

John Connolly – The Book of Lost Things

Blurb: High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the loss of his mother. He is angry and he is alone, with only the books on his shelf for company.

But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness, and as he takes refuge in the myths and fairytales so beloved of his dead mother he finds that the real world and the fantasy world have begun to meld. The Crooked Man has come, with his mocking smile and his enigmatic words: ‘Welcome, your majesty. All hail the new king.’

And as war rages across Europe, David is violently propelled that is both a construct of his imagination yet frighteningly real, a strange reflection of his own world composed of myths and stories, populated by wolves and worse-than-wolves, and ruled over by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book…

the book of lost things.jpg

I’ll be honest about this one – I was seduced by the cover. But this novel is now the one that I am most excited for on this list. It is exactly the kind of thing I like to read and write; a fantastical, creepy bildungsroman combining myth with reality. If this read goes well I will definitely be looking into more of the author’s work and I have a feeling it will earn itself a permanent spot on my bookshelf.

 

Nalini Singh – Branded by Fire

Blurb:  Though DarkRiver sentinel Mercy is feeling the pressure to mate, she savagely resists when Riley Kincaid, a lieutenant from the SnowDancer pack, tries to possess her. The problem is not simply that he pushes her buttons; the problem is that he’s a wolf, she’s a cat, and they’re both used to being on top.

But when a brilliant changeling researcher is kidnapped from DarkRiver territory, Mercy and Riley must work together to track the young man – before his shadowy captors decide he’s no longer useful. Along the way, the two dominants may find that submitting to one another uncovers not just a deadly conspiracy, but a passion so raw that it could leave them both branded by fire…

branded by fire.jpg

Back in safer territory, the back of this novel provides a little guarantee that it will be gothic, romantic, action packed, funny and sexy. I’m not blown away with excitement, but I’m sure this will provide an easy read and a happy change to the usual vampire route of fantasy.  Let’s be honest, we all know how it’s going to end, but I’m sure it will be an enjoyable book nonetheless. I’m not expecting it to break any boundaries or give me any major shocks but after some of the other titles on this list a little gothic romance might be very welcome.

 

What do you guys think? Have you read any of these titles, or would you like to? Happy Saturday!

5 thoughts on “Book haul and TBR – 2nd July 2016!

  1. ‘Woman on the Edge of Time’ was on my reading list too for a Gender and Sexuality module! I struggled with it at first but once it gets going it’s really good and I raced through it 🙂 hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

