The Secret Life of a Book Blogger Tag

Hi guys! I haven’t actually been tagged in this ‘secret life of a book blogger’, but I’ve seen a few people doing it without being tagged and I think it looks really fun, so here goes!

  1. How long have you been a blogger for?

I have been blogging for around three months, as I set up Booklighting after my final University exams in May 2016.

  1. At what point do you think you will stop?

Hopefully not for a long time! I imagine I will get busy and have to slow down a bit eventually, but I like to think I’ll still post occasionally, if only for my own enjoyment.

  1. What is the best part?

For me, the best part about blogging is that it makes me read more. I completely stopped reading for pleasure during University because I just had so much to read for my course, so starting this blog for me was a great way to get myself back into reading like I used to. Now I’m flying through books again!

  1. What is the worst part?

The worst part is the time commitment. There are a lot of things to consider when blogging, it isn’t just writing and adding a post but interacting with other blogs, keeping up to date with what is going on in the community and of course, reading! It can really take up a lot of time and I definitely am not doing as much as I would like to be at the moment.

  1. Who’s your book crush?

I have SO. MANY. Most books I read I end up with a crush of some sort. The first two that spring to mind at the moment are Damon Salvatore from ‘The Vampire Diaries’ series and Devil Wix from ‘The Illusionists’.

  1. What author would you like to have on your blog?

I would love to have Donna Tartt featured on my blog, but that is never going to happen! I am happy to be contacted by any authors.

  1. What do you wear when you write your blog?

I usually write blog posts at the weekend, so I’ll be slobbing around in leggings or shorts and a t-shirt.

  1. How long does it take you to prepare a post?

I tend to write my blog posts in one sitting, maybe in an hour or something like that. I like to bullet point my thoughts on a book first and then turn it into paragraphs, which is a nice and easy transition.

  1. How do you feel about the book blogger community/culture?

I think everyone is really friendly. When I first joined I received many welcoming comments and they seem to have dropped off now, but that’s alright. I’m hoping I’ll be able to find some closer connections within the community soon.

  1. What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

For me, I think the important thing to remember is to interact with others. Leaving comments on people’s blog posts and contacting twitter accounts goes a long way towards attracting followers.

 

What do you guys think? Do you agree/disagree with any of my thoughts?

Leave a Reply

