WWW Wednesday – 17th August 2016

WWW is hosted by Taking On A World of Words (https://samannelizabeth.wordpress.com/) and all you have to do is answer the three W’s:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

So…Let’s give it a shot!

What are you currently reading?

I am currently 10 pages into ‘The Last Pier’ by Roma Tearne, so I can’t say that I know much about it as of yet. The Independent describes it as ‘An atmospheric page-turner and Tearne keeps the reader guessing to the end’, and I absolutely adore fiction focused around the Second World War so I am certain that I will enjoy this novel. I picked this up at random in Waterstones and haven’t heard anything about it, so I’m excited to form my own opinion.

the last pier

What did you recently finish reading?

I have been on a roll recently! Well, maybe not compared to most of you readers, but I’m really starting to get back into the ease and speed with which I used to get through books – and I love it! I’m not going to say too much about these because they are all due to be reviewed on my blog very soon, but here’s the books I have recently finished reading:

the cursed child.jpg

 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Jack Thorne & J.K. Rowling

 

The widow.jpg

 

The Widow – Fiona Barton

 

the hunger

 

The Hunger- Lincoln Townley

 

the book of lost things

 

The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly

 

What do you think you will read next?

As I am a little short of funds, I won’t be able to buy any new books in the immediate future so I will be reading a couple of books that my parents have read and then set aside for me. I’m not against that though, I quite like reading books that aren’t quite new and that I know nothing about – you discover some real gems that way.

‘The Shakespeare Secret’ by J. L. Carrell

This one is a little different to my usual reads but I really am so excited to start it. The blurb clams that ‘The Shakespeare Secret masterfully combines modern murder and startling true revelations from the life of Shakespeare’, and from what I can tell the thriller seems to be about a murderer who copies the deaths of Shakespeare characters. Given my love of Shakespeare, I can’t wait to see where the author takes this one and I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

The shakespear secret

‘My Brilliant Friend’ by Elena Ferrante

Another work of historical fiction, this novel follows the lives of two girls on the streets in 1950s Naples. I know nothing more than that, but I’ve heard the novel is excellently written and I expect I will enjoy it very much.

My brilliant friend

‘A Medal for Leroy’ by Michael Morpurgo

Another Second World War historical novel! I’m spoiling myself. We all know Michael Morpurgo does it well, and it’s unusual for me to come across a novel of his that I haven’t read. Also, there’s a dog on the cover. It’s going to be great.

A medal for leroy

 

That’s all from me! What are you guys  reading?

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 17th August 2016

  1. Did you enjoy ‘Cursed Child?’ I loved it! I’ve got ‘My Brilliant Friend’ on my shelf as well but don’t know much more about it than you do. It might be a while until I get to it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did enjoy it! I had to completely separate it from the book series though, as it was a much more light-hearted approach and the plot was fairly lax. I thought some of the characters lacked the voice & identity that Rowling gave them (Ron) but if you don’t take it too seriously it’s an enjoyable read.

      Like

    • Honestly I don’t blame you! I didn’t dislike it at all but I had to completely separate it from the rest of the series in my mind, because it has a completely different approach. It’s much more light-hearted, almost like a fan fiction.

      Like

Leave a Reply

